Thursday, April 18, 2024

Ranji Trophy: Jayant Yadav’s 5-For Helps Haryana Take Management vs Saurahstra


Off-spinner Jayant Yadav returned with a five-wicket haul as Haryana dismissed defending champions Saurashtra for 145 to take management of their Ranji Trophy Group A match on the opening day on Friday. Jayant (5/42 in 16 overs) ripped via the Saurashtra center and decrease order after Sumit Kumar had dismissed the highest three batters Harvik Desai (15), Snell Patel (1) and Sheldon Jackson (1). Senior batter Cheteshwar Pujara, who struck a double tone within the earlier match, was the top-scorer with 49 off 100 balls as Saurashtra have been all out for 145 in 55 overs after electing to bat.

In reply, Haryana have been going robust by reaching 122 for 1 off 33 overs at stumps with Ankit Kumar and Himanshu Rana batting on 68 and 38 respectively to provide their facet a 23-run first innings lead.

Ankit has 9 fours and one six off 99 balls he has confronted to date.

Virat Singh’s 108 takes Jharkhand to 292/5 in opposition to Maharashtra

In one other Group A match in Pune, captain Virat Singh struck 108 off 171 balls to assist Jharkhand attain 292 for five from 89 overs at stumps on day 1 in opposition to Maharashtra. He hit eight fours and three sixes.

Kumar Suraj additionally chipped in with a 156-ball 83 which was studded with 11 fours and one six.

For Maharashtra, Hitesh Walunj took three wickets whereas Ashay Palkar acquired two.

Transient Scores: In Rajkot: Saurashtra 145 in 55 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 49; Jayant Yadav 5/42) vs Haryana 122 for 1 in 33 overs (Ankit Kumar 68 not out).

In Pune: Jharkhand 292 for five in 89 overs (Virat Singh 108, Kumar Suraj 83; Hitesh Walunj 3/76) vs Maharashtra.

In Delhi: Companies 173 for 1 in 73 overs (Nitin Tanwar 61 not out, Ravi Chauhan 81 not out) vs Rajasthan.

In Ahmedabad: Manipur 75 in 34.3 overs (Bikash Singh 13; Aditya Thakare 5/32, Aditya Sarwate 4/6) vs Vidarbha 123 for 4 in 49 overs (Faiz Fazal 29, Shubham Dubey 20 not out; L Kishan Singha 3/25).

In Kanpur: Uttar Pradesh 60 all out in 20.5 overs (Samarth Singh 13; Mohammed Kaif 4/14, Suraj Sindhu Jaiswal 3/20, Ishan Porel 2/24) vs Bengal 95 for five in 28 overs (Sayan Ghosh 37 batting; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/25).

In Mumbai: Mumbai 281 for six in 88 overs (Bhupen Lalwani 61, Shreyas Iyer 48, Suved Parkar 41, Shams Mulani 30 batting, Tanush Kotian 31 batting; Nitish Reddy 3/44, Shoaib Md Khan 2/42) vs Andhra.

In Patna: Bihar 108 all out in 38.4 overs (Bipin Saurabh 49; Ravi Kiran 5/21, Vashudev Bareth 3/21) vs Chhattisgarh 90 for 1 in 27 overs (Rishabh Tiwari 42 batting).

In Guwahati: Kerala 141 for 1 in 37 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 83, Krishna Prasad 52 batting) vs Assam.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Matters talked about on this article

Read more