Saturday, May 18, 2024

Current Match Report – New Zealand vs Pakistan fifth T20I 2023/24


Toss Pakistan opted to bat vs New Zealand

Pakistan received the toss and elected to bat within the fifth and last T20I in Christchurch of their bid to keep away from a clear sweep. They made three modifications to the facet that misplaced the fourth T20I two days again resting opener Saim Ayub together with quick bowlers Haris Rauf and Mohammad Wasim. Haseebullah Khan, a 20-year-old top-order batter, was handed a debut with quick bowler Abbas Afridi and legspinner Usama Mir additionally coming in.

Haseebullah turned out for Peshawar Zalmi within the PSL final season and has performed 20 T20 video games scoring 403 runs at 25.18. He had hammered a 29-ball 50 on PSL debut towards Karachi KIngs.

With the T20I performed on the identical floor as Friday, Pakistan captain Shaheen Shah Afridi anticipated the ball to show.

New Zealand, alternatively, made two modifications with Rachin Ravindra and Ish Sodhi coming in for Daryl Mitchell and Adam Milne. Mitchell was pulled out of this sport as New Zealand look to handle his workload. Head coach Gary Stead had earlier additionally stated that Devon Conway, who was dominated out of the fourth T20I as a consequence of Covid-19 “nonetheless has signs for the time being”

New Zealand are vying for a 5-0 clear sweep having registered 4 comfy wins to date this sequence. Within the earlier sport on the identical venue, it was Glenn Phillips and Mitchell who starred with half-centuries with the hosts chasing down Pakistan’s goal of 159 in 18.1 overs.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Will Younger, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner (capt), Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

Pakistan: Shaheen Afridi (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haseebullah Khan, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Zaman Khan

Read more

Latest News