Saturday, April 20, 2024

Current Match Report – India vs Afghanistan 1st T20I 2023/24


Toss: India choose to bowl vs Afghanistan

India captain Rohit Sharma received the toss and opted to bowl in his first T20I in additional than a yr. Rohit final featured in T20Is throughout the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.

India picked simply two frontline quicks in Arshdeep Singh and Mukesh Kumar on a greenish Mohali pitch in chilly circumstances. There was no room for Avesh Khan whereas Mumbai and Chennai Tremendous Kings’ seam-bowling allrounder Shivam Dube made the minimize. India additionally chosen three spinners – Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi and Washington Sundar. Jitesh Sharma, in the meantime, was picked as keeper forward of Sanju Samson.

Afghanistan captain Ibrahim Zadran mentioned he would have most popular to bowl first as nicely. Zadran is main Afghanistan within the absence of designated captain Rashid Khan who continues to get better from a again surgical procedure. The ace legspinner has been dominated out of your entire collection towards India.
Afghanistan handed a T20I debut to Rahmat Shah, who has performed 106 ODIs and 7 Take a look at matches up to now. The 30-year-old final performed a T20 sport in July 2022. The guests picked simply two spinners in Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Tilak Varma, 4 Shivam Dube, 5 Rinku Singh, 6 Jitesh Sharma (wk), 7 Axar Patel, 8 Washington Sundar, 9 Ravi Bishnoi, 10 Arshdeep Singh, 11 Mukesh Kumar.

Afghanistan: 1 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), 2 Ibrahim Zadran (capt), 3 Rahmat Shah, 4 Azmatullah Omarzai, 5 Mohammad Nabi, 6 Najibullah Zadran, 7 Karim Janat, 8 Gulbadin Naib, 9 Fazalhaq Farooqi, 10 Naveen-ul-Haq, 11 Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Read more