Monday, May 20, 2024

Current Match Report – Australia vs West Indies 2nd Take a look at 2023-2025


West Indies received the toss and determined to bat first in opposition to Australia

West Indies have opted to bat first in opposition to Australia within the second Take a look at on the Gabba with Guyana offspinning allrounder Kevin Sinclair named to make his Take a look at debut instead of Gudakesh Motie.

Australia captain Pat Cummins confirmed he would have additionally batted first if he had received the toss as Australia go in unchanged.

Sinclair obtained his debut Take a look at cap from former West Indies and Guyana allrounder Carl Hooper. Sinclair has performed seven ODIs and 6 T20Is. He’s the fourth debutant for the West Indies within the two-Take a look at collection however the one change from the XI that misplaced in Adelaide.

Australia have caught with their successful method regardless of some Covid infections working by means of the camp. Allrounder Cameron Inexperienced and coach Andrew McDonald each examined optimistic for Covid yesterday after Travis Head had examined optimistic earlier the week. Head has since examined destructive. Inexperienced is ready to play and McDonald will nonetheless coach the aspect however each will distance themselves barely from the group all through the early a part of the Take a look at till they’re destructive.

Opener Usman Khawaja can be match to play having recovered from a blow to the pinnacle late within the Adelaide Take a look at.

The Gabba pitch has loads much less grass than final yr when Australia and South Africa performed a two-day Take a look at on an especially full of life floor. It’s the first time the Gabba has hosted a day-night Take a look at since 2019. There have been two pink-ball Assessments in Brisbane with Australia successful each. Australia has received all 11 day-night Test matches they’ve performed since 2015.

Australia 1 Usman Khawaja, 2 Steven Smith, 3 Marnus Labuschagne, 4 Cameron Inexperienced, 5 Travis Head, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Pat Cummins (capt), 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Josh Hazlewood

West Indies 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Tagenarine Chanderpaul, 3 Kirk McKenzie, 4 Alick Athanaze, 5 Kavem Hodge, 6 Justin Greaves, 7 Joshua Da Silva (wk), 8 Kevin Sinclair, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Shamar Joseph

Read more

Latest News