Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Mohsin Naqvi prone to take over as PCB chairman


The revolving door on the head of the PCB is about to see a brand new man on the helm, with Mohsin Naqvi primed to take over as chairman when PCB elections are held. It’s understood the elections may happen as early as subsequent week.

The place on the high turned vacant when Zaka Ashraf give up final week, a fortnight earlier than his newest three-month extension as chairman of the Interim Administration Committee (IMC) expired. He was initially appointed head of the IMC in July final 12 months, and the mandate of the ten-member physique was to finalise the Board of Governors (BoG) and conduct elections for the submit of board chairman inside 4 months. Nonetheless, when that aim couldn’t be achieved inside the timeframe, the committee was given one other three months to take action by the patron of the PCB, the caretaker prime minister of Pakistan, Anwar ul Haq Kakar.

Naqvi, 45, presently the caretaker Chief Minister of Punjab, has been nominated to the board of governors’ place Ashraf left vacant, which might pave the way in which for his election as chairman. He’ll proceed to carry his place in authorities even when, as is broadly anticipated, he wins the election for PCB chairman, not less than till basic elections in Pakistan are held, presently anticipated on February 8.

PCB election commissioner Shah Khawar has assumed non permanent cost as chairman. He’ll conduct a gathering on the PCB headquarters on the Gaddafi Stadium on Wednesday, with the schedule of PCB elections anticipated to turn out to be clearer. As soon as elections are held, the chairman might be appointed to a three-year time period.

Ought to Naqvi, who has by no means held a submit in cricket administration, ascend to the chairmanship, it’ll finish a interval of over a 12 months with out a particular person formally elected as PCB chairman. Ramiz Raja was eliminated in December 2022, with Najam Sethi turning into the pinnacle of the PCB Administration Committee. He give up the submit in June 2023 for political causes, saying he didn’t need the heads of two political events who have been then in coalition – the PPP and the PML-N – to fall out over him. It led to Ashraf’s appointment, who would then preside over a reasonably chaotic time period through which he was steadily accused of “flagrant misdoings and unconstitutional selections”.

Other than Naqvi, the opposite 9 members of the IMC are Kalim Ullah Khan, Ashfaq Akhtar, Muhammad Mussadiq Islam, Azmat Pervez, Zaheer Abbas, Khawaja Nadeem, Mustafa Ramday, Zulfiqar Malik, and Khurram Karim Somroo.

Read more