Thursday, April 18, 2024

Bengaluru, Delhi shortlisted as WPL 2024 venues


The BCCI has shortlisted Bengaluru and Delhi as venues to host the 2024 Girls’s Premier League (WPL). The BCCI has additionally tentatively pencilled in a window between February 22 and March 17 for the second season of the match.

ESPNcricinfo has discovered that the primary a part of 2024 WPL can be performed in Bengaluru whereas Delhi will host the second leg, together with the knockouts. Splitting the five-team match, comprising 22 matches, throughout two venues will enable pitches at each venues to remain recent for the 2024 IPL which is about to start from March 22.

The inaugural WPL was launched in 2023 and was performed solely in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. BCCI secretary Jay Shah had not too long ago stated that the BCCI would ideally need to host the second season of WPL additionally in a single state to offset the logistical challenges of conducting the match throughout venues inside a decent window.

Nonetheless, the BCCI has determined having two venues was a greater choice. However with only one large venue in Bengaluru (M Chinnaswamy Stadium) and in Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium), there can be matches over 10 consecutive days at every floor. Up to now neither the IPL nor the WPL has seen enjoying matches on greater than two consecutive days on the similar venue.

Mumbai Indians are the defending champions, having crushed Delhi Capitals within the finale of the primary season final 12 months.

Read more