Saturday, April 20, 2024

Australia information – Steven Smith to captain ODIs in opposition to West Indies, Lance Morris known as up


Steven Smith will captain Australia within the ODI collection in opposition to West Indies subsequent month whereas quick bowler Lance Morris has been handed his first call-up within the format.
Pat Cummins, having led the facet to the World Cup title in November, has been rested alongside Mitchell Marsh who captained the crew in South Africa. Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood have additionally been given a break from the three 50-over video games in Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra. David Warner introduced his retirement from the format final week though stored the door ajar to play within the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Hardie made his ODI debut in opposition to South Africa final September and Quick within the collection in opposition to India which preceded the World Cup. Each have continued to impress on this season’s BBL.

For Morris, the collection will present the chance for his worldwide debut after spending appreciable time as a reserve across the Check squad. Barring accidents to the three frontline Check quicks it might seem unlikely he’ll characteristic in that format within the close to future.

“It’s a little over 12 months till the Champions Trophy and additional alternatives for the likes of Aaron Hardie, Matt Quick, Jhye Richardson, and Nathan Ellis shall be beneficial each to our ongoing enchancment as a crew and likewise additional their private experiences in ODI cricket,” nationwide selector George Bailey mentioned.

“The squad strikes a stability between gamers persevering with to make their mark on worldwide cricket, taking part in alongside a few of our most skilled gamers with an eye fixed to the longer term on this format.”

The collection in opposition to West Indies are Australia’s final scheduled ODIs till they tour England in September.

Australia ODI squad vs West Indies

Steve Smith, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Inexperienced, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Matt Quick, Adam Zampa

Read more